Categorized | Breaking News, JAX Briefs

One Spark 2015 Announces Jurors Chosen to Award $95,000 in Prizes to Top Projects

One Spark, The World’s Largest Crowdfunding Festival, today announced the subject experts that will comprise seven juries to award $95,000 in prizes to top creator projects at the April 7-12, 2015 festival. Juries comprised of three to five jurors each will award six $15,000 prizes in each of One Spark’s six categories for projects: art, education, health & science, music, social good and technology. The seventh jury will award the $5,000 Jacksonville prize. Jurors will be given instructions to award prizes to projects that will have the biggest potential impact on the category, or industry, that they’re in and also the likelihood of success based on the project team’s ability to execute.

“We have selected subject matter experts from throughout the country as well as from Jacksonville to ensure we have a great mix of people to select top projects in each category,” said One Spark Co-founder and CEO Elton Rivas. “Jurors will be looking for projects that have the biggest potential impact in their field, plus have a great team in place with demonstrated traction. We look forward to the innovative projects that are selected to receive the juried awards at One Spark this year.”

Jurors will select three finalists in each award category that will be announced April 11, 2015, 6 p.m., at Hemming Park. The finalists will have a chance to pitch their projects to the jurors and the public April 12, 2015, 1-4:30 p.m. on the main stage at Hemming Park. The winners will be announced at the One Spark Closing Ceremony, April 12, 2015, 5 p.m.


Art Category Juried Award presented by J. Johnson Gallery jurors:

  • Michael Cavendish, trustee, MOCA Jacksonville; partner, Gunster Law; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Timothy LeNoir, senior designer, Bravado- Universal Music Group; New York, N.Y.
  • Chip Southworth, artist, Jacksonville, Fla.

Education Category Juried Award presented by The Schultz Center for Teaching & Leadership jurors:

  • Sheridan Brown, retired school principal, Duval County Public Schools; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Betty Burney, founder and executive director, I’m A Star Foundation; former school board member, Duval County Public Schools; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Colleen Wilson, department chair and associate professor of education, Jacksonville University; Jacksonville, Fla.

Health & Science Category Juried Award presented by GuideWell jurors:

  • Carla Fry, Ph.D., R.N., director, R.N.-B.S.N. programs and assistant professor of nursing, Jacksonville University; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Robin Shelly, M.B.A., P.M.P., innovation consultant, Florida Blue; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Pere Ventura, development engineer, Biomet Microfixation; Jacksonville, Fla.

Music Category Juried Award jurors:

  • Lukas Costas, co-founder, Sidereal, One Spark 2014 Music Juried Award winner; Gainesville, Fla.
  • Chris Martignago, A&R consultant, Atlantic Records; Orlando, Fla.
  • Robert Massey, president and CEO, Jacksonville Symphony Orchestra; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Thomas Maxwell Sharp, content manager, Paper Garden Records; New York, N.Y.
  • Israel Vasquetelle, department chair, Entertainment Business & Music Business Bachelor of Science Programs, Full Sail University; Orlando, Fla.

Social Good Category Juried Award jurors:

  • Jayne G. Evans, marketing and communications, Nonprofit Center of Northeast Florida; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Bill Heneghan, co-founder, AKIBA Health, SimplyFlex, Benefit Provisions; Orlando, Fla.
  • Barbara Roole, senior program officer, Jessie Ball duPont Fund; Jacksonville, Fla.

Technology Category Juried Award presented by Deutsche Bank jurors:

  • Grace Belangia, executive director, HACKAugusta; Augusta, Ga.
  • Hampton Catlin, CEO and founder, Wordset; San Francisco, Calif.
  • Albert Herrera, Americas regional manager, Firewalls & Security, Deutsche Bank Jacksonville; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Jason Premo, chairman, Premo Ventures; Greenville, N.C.

Jacksonville Award presented by Wells Fargo jurors:

  • Jay Harris, co-pastor, Image Church; co-founder, Strght & Nrrw; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Melissa Ross, host and producer, “First Coast Connect,” WJCT-FM/TV, NPR; Jacksonville, Fla.
  • Dr. Wayne W. Wood, arts agitator, author and historian; Jacksonville, Fla.


The $95,000 in juried awards is part of the $350,000 in total awards and crowdfunds available for creator projects at One Spark 2015. Each of the six project categories also has a top-voted award worth $15,000 and awarded by festival attendees’ votes using the One Spark App or on The remaining $150,000 is also divided out based on festival attendees’ votes by percentage of votes earned by each creator projects. Projects must receive at least .1 percent of the vote to qualify. Creator projects will also compete for direct individual contributions from anywhere in the world using the One Spark App or on and $3.5 million potential capital investments. There are 555 creator projects competing at One Spark 2015. For more information about the One Spark 2015 jurors and juried prizes, visit


About One Spark: One Spark, The World’s Largest Crowdfunding Festival, is committed to fostering environments of creativity and innovation by connecting artists, entrepreneurs and innovators from around the world with the human and capital resources they need to launch ideas. The One Spark festival is an interactive experience that allows attendees to support ideas and projects that inspire them via voting and direct contributions and decide on the next big thing. One Spark Jacksonville 2015 takes place April 7 – 12, 2015 in downtown Jacksonville, Fla.

Leave a Reply