Categorized | JAX Briefs

3 northwest utilities join TEA

Three northwest public power entities, Clark Public Utilities (Clark) Lewis County Public Utility District No. 1 (Lewis) and Pacific County Public Utility District No. 2 (Pacific) have joined The Energy Authority (TEA), as its 42nd, 43rd, and 44th partners after competitive RFP processes and contract negotiations. The Energy Authority is a 175 Jacksonville-based employee national leader in public power energy trading and risk management services.

TEA will provide these utilities with risk management, Slice management, trading, and settlement services to help integrate their power portfolios under the Bonneville Power Administration’s (BPA) Post-2011 Slice of System Agreement. While Clark currently has a partial requirements and both Lewis and Pacific have full requirements service agreements with BPA, all three utilities entered into a 17-year term new BPA Slice of System agreement effective October 2011.

With the addition of these three customers, TEA will service nine Slice customers when the new BPA Slice of System agreements go into effect in October 2011. To better serve these customers, TEA moved its Western U.S. trading desk to its Seattle area office.

Leave a Reply