Categorized | JAX Briefs

JAX small business owners among SBA’s 2010 champions

A number of Jacksonville small business owners and managers are among those the Small Businesssbalogosmall Administration’s North Florida District Office is honoring as small business champions. An Orlando business owner, Waymon Armstrong, was named 2010 Small business Person of the year.

Armstrong is the CEO of Engineering and Computer Simulations, Inc (ECS).  He has been invited to attend the Small Business Week Celebration in Washington DC in May where the National Small Business Person of the Year will be announced.

SBA gave regional recognition to two Jacksonville business owners and managers. The regional recognition means that these individuals were selected as 2010 Small Business Week winners for Florida, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Kentucky. The winners were:

• Joanne Marie Kazmierski, manager of Community Outreach and Environmental Advocacy for JAXPORT—Minority Small Business Champion of the Year;

• Helga Langthon, vice president of SOHO Network Solution, Inc.—Small Business Exporter of the Year.

The SBA recognized two district winners:

• Pegine Echevarria, CEO and president of Team Pegine of Ponte Vedra Beach—2010 Women in Business Champion of the Year for the North Florida District and the state;

•  Rear Admiral Kevin F. Delaney, president  and CEO of Delaney & Associates Consulting of Jacksonville—2010 Veteran Small Business Champion of the Year for the North Florida District and the State of Florida.

The SBA also named Christopher Hurn, CEO and co-founder of Mercantile Capital Corporation in Altamonte Springs as district and state Financial Services Champion of the Year Winner.

The 2010 Small Business Week Award Winners from the Jacksonville area (and top North Florida SBA lenders) will be recognized at the 18th Annual Small Business Week & Lender Awards Celebration on May 13, 2010, at the University of North Florida’s University Center from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.. This event is hosted by the Small Business Development Center at the University of North Florida.  For more information on this award ceremony, please visit

Leave a Reply