CATEGORIES

Categorized | Breaking News

IRS phone forum to focus on fraud and identity theft

The Internal Revenue Service will conduct a free phone forum for small business owners, tax professionals, attorneys,phone and payroll clerks, on the topic of fraud and identity theft. The forum, offered at several times, will be August 19.

In the forum, participants will learn the process for reporting tax-related identity theft; how to get assistance for victims; IRS efforts to combat online fraud targeted at taxpayers; and how to report phishing schemes targeted at taxpayers.

Participation in the forum requires preregistration at the AT&T Teleconference Services Web site (www.attevent.com). Enter the access code for the event you select to attend:

Code 760853 —10:00 a.m. (EDT); 9:00 a.m. (CDT); 8:00 a.m. (MDT); 7:00 a.m. (PDT)

 Code 648527— 1:00 p.m. (EDT); 12:00 p.m. (CDT); 11:00 a.m. (MDT); 10:00 a.m. (PDT)

Code 353052 —4:00 p.m. (EDT); 3:00 p.m. (CDT); 2:00 p.m. (MDT); 1:00 p.m. (PDT)

Special accommodations, such as materials in Braille, large print, or interpreter services, can be arranged by e-mailing nationalphoneforum@irs.gov.


Leave a Reply