Categorized | Breaking News

Will you be 2009 Small Business Advocate?

The National Small Business Association, an advocacy group for small businesses, is seeking nominations for the 2009 Lewis I. Shattuck questionmarkSmall Business Advocate of the Year Award, which honors small-business owners who go above and beyond in advocating for the small-business community. Nominations are due April 10, 2009.


 Any small-business owner is eligible for the award. Nominees should demonstrate a commitment to small-business advocacy, a proven history of volunteering on behalf of the small-business community, and success and growth as a small-business owner.

 NSBA will select five finalists and one winner, who will be recognized at the annual Advocate of the Year Award Luncheon on June 9, 2009, in conjunction with the NSBA Washington Presentation in Washington, D.C.

Past winners include: Joseph Melookaran CPA, founder of JMA Chartered in Overland Park, Kansas; Scott Hauge, president of Cal Insurance & Associates; Robert Schmidt, founder of Cleveland Medical Devices Inc. and Orbital Research Inc.; and Valerie W. Perlowitz, founder and CEO of Reliable Integration Services, Inc.

 Nomination forms are available at the organization’s Web site.

 Source: National Small Business Association,

Leave a Reply